top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Chemo On Hold

Updated: Aug 15, 2020


Well at least I tested negative for COVID-19…


I’ve had a bad cough for over a month. My doctor wasn’t concerned, thought it was allergies, but I encouraged her to explore it further.


After an x-ray and CT scan on Friday and Monday, they discovered yesterday that my lungs are inflamed. They don’t know what’s causing it. But it’s a big enough concern that they cancelled my chemo treatment for today.


My doctor thought it was one of three things: viral pneumonia, pneumonitis caused by chemo, COVID19. Last night we ruled out COVID-19, thank God. I’ll know in 5 days if the chemo is causing the inflammation. If so, they’ll discontinue my last four chemo treatments and move up my surgery to this month.


Paclitaxel-Induced Hypersensitivity Pneumonitis is very rare. That's why my doctor was pretty sure that wasn't the issue. But I knew my cough wasn't normal, wasn't something to be ignored. I'm glad I spoke up.

14 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page