top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Does Radiation Treatment Hurt?


I had my first radiation treatment today. I lay on a table with my arms over my head while they played music from the 70s as mechanical sounds of the radiation machine pass over my body. I had a sleep mask over my eyes to protect me from the bright red lights. I felt no pain and in 10-minutes time it was over. After, I walked back to the women's dressing room, remove my gown and store it in the cubby they've assigned to me with my name on it.


That pretty much describes my routine for the next six weeks. It's a total of 33 radiation treatments. I was told that starting as early as next week the radiation site - on the right side of my right breast will feel like a very bad sunburn. Medical professionals and friends don't realize that as a Black woman I've never experienced sunburn (although some Black people have). But their reference doesn't help me. So I imagine it's basically what a basic burn feels like.


Since this will go on for weeks, there are "radiation lotions" you can use to help prevent the skin from burning. Two that have been recommended are Miaderm Cream and Jeans Cream. They're not cheap -- on average 50 bucks for a 7 ounce bottle. But it's definitely worth the money. Also straight up aloe vera can be used.


During these weeks of radiation I'm told to use a body wash for sensitive skin free from parabens, sulfates and fragrances. I also can't use a natural deodorant on my right side - I've tried using these in the past and don't find they work much. And I have to avoid bras with underwires.


My appointment times are in the morning so they don't interfere with my work schedule.








32 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page