top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Not Exactly a Massage

Updated: Oct 28, 2020


Today was my first physical therapy appointment. I’m doing four in total. Primarily the focus was on the fluid which has built up underneath my arm pit. This happened because of the surgery I had which removed my formerly cancerous tumor along with three lymph nodes. Lymph nodes don’t like to be messed with.

As I mentioned in a previous post, lymphedema (build-up of lymph fluid in the fatty tissues just under your skin) is no joke and can be a life-long issue. You don't want to Google those images. Thankfully, since I only had three lymph nodes removed, I was told I shouldn’t have much of an issue. But I need to manage it now and continue to do so through radiation which can also cause issues with my lymph system.

My therapist taught me how to massage the areas of fluid to stimulate movement to areas where my vessels are more active. In my case, I’m trying to get the fluid to move from one arm pit to another.

The massage is a bit weird. It’s not like when I massage a stiff muscle. Instead, it’s a gentle brushing of the area, almost as though I was using a paint brush. I create a movement from the fluid buildup and brush it across my chest to the other side of my body. But it’s not like I’m pushing anything. I don’t feel the fluid. It’s simply a feather-light stroking of the skin.

To be honest, it feels a little like wacky medicine. I’m like, “how can this simple act help?” Well, I’ll tell you in a month whether it does. Until then, I’ll trust that my physical therapist, who specializes in cancer and lymphedema patients, knows what she’s talking about.



36 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page