top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

PET Scan Second Try


Today was my second attempt at a PET scan. I went a week ago and they weren't able to find a vein. Today, I first went to my oncologist and the nurse gave me "port access" which means she added a needle to my port and a tube so that the PET place could inject me with a radioactive material called a tracer.


During the PET scan she injected the tracer and I had to sit still in a recliner for 45-minutes to allow it to flow through my veins.


After that she wrapped me in a shroud and the "donut" passes slowly over my body. That part takes about 15-minutes and you have to lie/lay still with your hands over your head. I sneezed twice, but thankfully that was all the movement I did.


So... the purpose of the PET scan is to determine if the cancer has spread to other parts of my body. The tracer detects cells that are rapidly growing throughout and is highlighted on an image. I'll get the results in the morning. I pray that it's clean.

66 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page