top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Should I Dissect My Pathology Report?

Updated: Apr 4, 2020

I didn't walk through my cancer diagnosis the typical way. But I've never experienced this before, so I don't know what's normal. I discovered I had cancer on my own by dissecting my

radiology report from my mammogram and ultrasound. Why I didn't hear it from a doctor is another story for another time.


Later, after getting the biopsy results, which confirmed the cancer, I again researched what this new paperwork said and learned that I had triple-negative breast cancer. Again, I'm not sure why the doctor didn't think that piece of information was significant. But it was a big deal, so it was disappointing that I found out about it on my own.


I'm curious - always reading, watching, searching for information and stories. I get paid to do it, and spend my free time in my inquisitive mode, as well. I do sometimes think about what curiosity did to that cat. But I also know that knowledge can be powerful and the fact that we literally have this information at our fingertips makes it irresistible.


So as I face my cancer road ahead, I'll continue to dig deeper and hope that what I learn can be of benefit to me and others.

25 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page