top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Slicing Open My Chest



Today I had my port removed -- that device placed inside my chest which was attached to my artery. It allowed quick access for chemo infusions and blood withdraws.


I was a bit nervous because it seemed like this procedure should take place at a hospital under anesthesia (as was the insertion of it), not a doctor's office. So I watched a couple of YouTube videos to see what was involved. I found the videos both terrifying and a relief. It did take away the mystery, but was hard to watch. Here's a link to one of those videos for those who don't mind watching a surgery: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eK9FP1g1L2U


It was a simple procedure. My surgeon sliced open the previous incision and pulled out the port, all while I was awake. They of course numbed the area. She used a device that looked like a razor blade. The first couple of slices I could feel, so she had to do more numbing.


Once she started, the procedure took about 15-minutes. My surgeon couldn't get it out right away, so there was a lot of pulling. I could feel the pressure, but it wasn't painful and there didn't seem to be lots of blood - although I wasn't in a position where I could see the opening.


My surgeon is very perky, giggly and chatty - and so is her staff. There were five of us inside the room for the procedure - the surgeon, nurse, two medical attendants and me. We discussed our plans for Thanksgiving, the horrible sounds scissors make with cutting through flesh (my procedure didn't require that, but one of the videos I saw did) and baby birthing stories (which I, of course, couldn't contribute). It all made for a nice distraction.


She sewed me up and put some glue over the incision and sent me on my merry way. I'm a little sore, mostly because I've been driving and the seat belt rubs across the incision. I have one of those pillows for the seat belt but it's not helping much.


I'm glad the port is out. One less evidence of the cancer.






Before surgery

After surgery


This is my port after being removed. So long annoying thing inside my chest that didn't work half the time.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page