top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Surgery Scheduled - Sept 17


Phase One of cancer treatment is officially behind me. No more chemo. I wasn't allowed to take the last infusion because this darn pneumonitis won't go away. I learned a new phrase "pulmonary toxicity" which describes what the chemo is doing to my lungs.


My surgery is scheduled for 3pm on September 17th. While an outpatient procedure that will only lasts a few hours, several things will happen during the surgery.

  • They'll remove whatever remains of my tumor.

  • They'll determine whether cancer cells have spread to other areas within the breast.

  • If there's any cancer visible, they'll remove it.

  • They'll remove a lymph node that has always been in question to determine if it had cancer.

    • I won't know the results of the lymph nodes for a week

This is round four of my steroid treatments. I'm on dexamethasone. What happens is that I'll go on for a week or so and then I go off to see if the cough/pneumonitis returns. I'm three for three of it returning. So now, my oncologist put me on a higher dose - double what I was on before. It means sleepless nights, the jitters, bloating and eating everything in sight, although it does give me more energy. I also read recently that it can impact your emotions - even cause you to make rash decisions. She's hoping that a two week intense round will put an end to this nonsense.


I've never had experiences with steroids in the past. Dexamethasone has been in the news a lot recently because it's an effective treatment for COVID-19 symptoms. It really has saved lives.


Most people are familiar with another steroid drug - prednisone. Dexamethasone is more potent and lasts longer in your system. But the side effects, as I said before, can be intense. If it looks like my face is puffy and swollen in photos, it's probably steroids.


I'm glad my surgery will come and go soon. Then it's onto radiation. I pray that this pneumonitis will no longer be a part of the picture. I appreciate your prayers too. Thanks.



33 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page