top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina

Tender Scalp


Sounds like the title of a song, or a dating site for people with hair fetishes. Hmmm. Anyway, it's been 18 days since I shaved my head. But no hair loss. Over the last few days my scalp has gotten very tender. It's sore when I rub my head. I imagine that means my short Afro will begin to fall away soon.


I'm not too heartbroken over it, although it hasn't happened yet, so who knows how I'll feel. I will say that I experienced something weird right after I (Sergeant) cut my hair off. Let me preface it by saying, with chemo I'm sensitive to certain smells and even things I touch and see. So for the first week after the first round of chemo, touching my hair made me queasy... even seeing it in the mirror caused the same reaction. So I wore headscarves a lot. Maybe some shrink would find great joy in telling me the connection.


A week after that, the queasiness went away. Now I kinda like to rub my head. Well, I did until the soreness happened.


When I go to the oncology office, the first thing I look for is who has hair and who doesn't. It gives me an idea of where they are in the process. I imagine they'll be a kind of bonding when I do join the chemo bald club.


It's time to go online and find more scarves. My sisters and a friend sent me a few. I enjoy trying to match them with outfits. It's also time to buy a wig. Since I can't go to a store and try and wig on, I'm not going to invest in anything expensive via mail order. I'm no stranger to wigs or weave extensions, but the necessity does add a new dimension to my purchase.



43 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page